Jack Canfield · Learning · Success Formula

E+R=O

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

So as you all know from my previous post Don’t forget synchronicity I’ve been doing an online course with the delightful Jack Canfield. Yesterday’s homework was to focus on my past successes. This, for me, is easier said than done. However, I have to say that when you really think it about and start to write down what you have achieved in life, no matter how big or how small, you really start to feel positive about yourself.

You see, we always seem to remember the bad things, the stuff that didn’t go right. We mull it over and over in our minds until it becomes so much bigger than it really is. How many times has something happened and you’ve felt embarrassed? You replay it again and again in your head until it is such a monumental event that you never want to leave the house again! When, in reality, nobody else, other than you, has given it a second thought.

So let’s start focusing on the good! Our achievements. Our successes.Give it a try. You’ll be amazed at how good it makes you feel and how motivated you will be to take on your next challenge because you will know you are capable of anything!

Today’s lesson was all about E+R=O (Event+Response=Outcome).

Jack says that no matter what happens in our lives (event) the outcome is determined by our response. Our response is the only thing we have control over. Therefore, it’s our response that determines our success and happiness. We create our outcome!

Put it this way. Something happens to you at work. A colleague does something that pisses you off. Maybe they didn’t complete their part of a certain task or ignored a job that needed doing? Now this is where we choose our response. We can either react badly and so we get a bad outcome or we can react in a positive way, therefore, we get a positive outcome. It may be that the reason our colleague didn’t complete their part of the task is because they were busy dealing with something else or they weren’t feeling too good. Maybe they didn’t know how and were too embarrassed to admit it. Maybe they just couldn’t be bothered! The truth is, it doesn’t matter why they didn’t do it, they just didn’t do it. Now we can choose to let this stress us out. We can choose to get angry about it. Does it change anything? The answer is no!  Our response only affects us. It doesn’t change the event, it only changes the outcome. If we choose to react in a positive way we will receive a positive outcome.

I know it’s hard, especially when how others work impacts on our workload, but this is where we choose to let it stress us out or we choose let it go, to take a positive response. E+R=O.

We are the creators of our happiness. We choose what decisions we make. We choose. We respond. We create our outcomes.

I quit smoking last year. I gained weight. It wasn’t the event, me quitting smoking, that made me gain weight. It was my response to me quitting smoking that made me gain weight! I chose to eat to substitute my not smoking. I chose food over cigarettes. My choice, my response = negative outcome. Now I am exercising and eating healthy again. I am losing the weight I gained. My response to my weight gain = positive outcome.

I can’t wait for tomorrows lesson. This course has taught me so much. It has also reminded me to keep a positive mind and take responsibility for my outcomes.

Everything we are experiencing in our lives, right now, is a direct result of what we have thought. How we responded to things. We are the creators of our universe. If you don’t like what is in your life, change what you think and how your respond. Only we can change our outcomes. Only we can create what we want. The blame game needs to stop. Nobody else controls us. If you want something to change only you can make that happen.

Check out one of Jack Canfields articles on this formula:

The Formula that Puts You in Control of Success

Jack Canfield, America’s #1 Success Coach, is founder of the billion-dollar book brand Chicken Soup for the Soul®and a leading authority on Peak Performance and Life Success. If you’re ready to jump-start your life, make more money, and have more fun and joy in all that you do, get FREE success tips from Jack Canfield now at: www.FreeSuccessStrategies.com

Love and happiness

Catherine xx

6 thoughts on “E+R=O

Leave a Reply

